Four Floyd County Teachers to be Inducted into Distinguished Educators Hall of Fame

Four Floyd County Teachers will be inducted to the University of Pikeville Distinguished Educators Hall of Fame on October 26 at 6pm in the Booth Auditorium in the Record Memorial Building located on the UPIKE Campus. Nominees include Janice Hall, a reading teacher, and Lisa Tackett, a special education teacher, both of South Floyd Elementary; Ricky Thacker, assistant principal at Prestonsburg High School; and Leah Turner, a language arts and social studies teach at Duff-Allen Central Elementary. Nominations were accepted by UPIKE in May 2017. Nominees had to be current elementary, middle, secondary, collegiate or professional level teachers from the Appalachian Region with ten or more years of service.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.