Secretary Heiner Announces New Work Ready Communities

Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet Secretary Hal Heiner announced Friday, November 17, 2017, that Barren and Taylor counties have been certified as Kentucky Work Ready Communities. In addition, Harlan, Laurel, and Scott counties have been certified as Kentucky Work Ready Communities in Progress. Secretary Heiner encouraged all communities in the Commonwealth to pursue the Work Ready Designation. To become certified, a county must gather local support and commitment, and apply for the designation. In addition, counties must meet criteria in six areas, including high school graduation rates, National Career Readiness Certificate holders, demonstrated community commitment, educational attainment, soft-skills development and digital literacy.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.