Johnson County Schools Win Big at International Conference

Students from Johnson County Schools traveled to La Crosse, Wisconsin over the weekend to compete in Future Problem Solving Programming International Competition. This is the first time in DISTRICT history that all seven schools were represented in competition. Each school had to qualify in their division at the state level to receive an invitation to compete at Internationals. Students from Central Elementary, Project Eagle Wings placed 2nd in the Division of Environmental Services. Flat Gap Elementary, Project Water Hounds placed 3rd in Education CmPS, and WR Castle’s Project Snooze placed 2nd in Human Services CmPS. Highland Elementary was crowned the International Champion in Human Services CmPS and won the highest honor awarded in CmPS, The Beyonder Award placing ahead of 75 Community Problem Solving teams from around the world. Highland Elementary is also home to the Individual Community Problem Solving Champion: Emily Farler with her project, Breaking Boundaries and International Qualifying Individual, Zoey Curtis’ CmPS Project, Your Story Isn’t Over. Highland Elementary and Porter Elementary also represented JC with their Future Problem Solving teams. The HES Future Problem Solving team placed third in the world with their presentation of action plan. Kaylyn McKenzie of WRC was recognized as the Individual Future Problem Solving Champion, and Constance Martin, also of WRC, was a member of the World Champion Individual FPS Magic team. Johnson County Middle School won first in the Middle School division of CmPS with their project, Hand in Hand. The JCMS Future Problem Solving Team finished as Runner Up in the World in their written competition. Johnson Central High School was represented by Chloe Deskins, CmPS Project, Homegrown, and the JCHS Future Problem Solving team placed 8th in the world. This made the 8th consecutive time that JCHS FPS team members have made the International Stage. Peyton Duncan represented JCHS in Scenario Writing and was awarded the World’s Best Writer Award in the Senior Division.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.