Floyd County Teachers to be Inducted in UPIKE Distinguished Educators Hall of Fame

Educators with Floyd County Schools will be honored on Thursday, October 18, 2018 by the University of Pikeville. Dr. Jeff Shannon and Cassandra Akers will be inducted into UPIKE’s Distinguished Educators Hall of Fame. Dr. Shannon currently teaches classes in Information Technology at Prestonsburg High School through the Floyd County Area Technology Center and teaches graduate classes for the University of Louisiana. Additionally, he teaches continuing education classes for adults. He is in his eighteenth year as an educator. Akers has been in education for over 25 years, beginning her career in special education at McDowell High, then moving to Betsy Layne High where she went on to become assistant principal, then principal. Dr. Shannon and Akers will be inducted at 6pm October 18 in the Booth Auditorium on UPIKE’s campus.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.