Emergency Disaster Designation Request for Farmers in 16 Kentucky Counties Approved

An emergency disaster designation request, submitted by Governor Matt Bevin, in support of Kentucky farmers, has been approved by US Department of Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue. The Secretarial disaster designation allows farmers impacted by heavy rains and flooding to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency. Nicholas, Bourbon, Clark, and Powell counties received designations as “primary natural disaster areas,” with an additional 12 counties designated as “contiguous disaster counties.” All 16 counties are eligible to receive assistance from the Farm Service Agency. Farmers in the eligible counties will have eight months to apply for assistance from the FSA.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.