Mobile Needle Exchange Unit to be Deployed in Five Eastern Kentucky Counties

Five counties in Eastern Kentucky will be implementing a new strategy to combat the spread of disease among intravenous drug users. Beginning in the summer of 2019, a mobile needle exchange unit will be deployed in the counties of Knox, Laurel, Whitley, Clay, and Jackson. The van was funded by a grant from the Kentucky Department for Public Health. The Mobile Harm Reduction Unit will spend one day in each county before traveling to the next. Officials are currently looking to establish at least four different locations in each county.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.